Minnesota State University

The school became Mankato State Teachers College in 1921, Mankato State College in 1957 and Mankato State University in 1975. In 1998, it took the name that stands today—Minnesota State University, Mankato. Although our first graduates earned one-or two-year degrees to become teachers, the University has been granting four-year degrees in a growing number of disciplines since 1927. The first master’s degrees were awarded in 1954, and the first doctorate was conferred in 2009.


  • More than 14,000 students, including more than 1,170 international students from 89 countries.
  • Nearly 1,600 faculty and staff, including more than 700 teaching faculty. More than 90 percent of the full-time instructional faculty have terminal degrees.
  • 12.4 percent faculty of color and an institutional commitment to welcoming underrepresented populations.
  • More than 125,000 alumni worldwide.